Going Local…

Its that time of year for LKN YMCA Triathlon. I really like this race, a fun course in my back yard with plenty of familiar faces…Casey Roadcap below…

  
I woke early race morning to get ready for the 730am start. Feeling a bit tired I dragged a little in the morning and arrived later than I wanted. Maybe something to do with my recent start of Ironman training. 

  
When I arrived I had to quickly get ready and get in my warmup. Which I did, then got to the water for a short swim before the start. They called my wave, the gun went and we were off. I had put myself at the front and was quickly engulfed in swimmers. This last lasted for about 2min…then it began to thin out. By the first turn about 5min in there was about 6 of us, then by the end I came out of the water 2nd in my group and was feeling great. I ran into T1, got changed quickly and was out on the bike. I passed a couple of people near the beginning of the bike, then spotted another at the halfway point which turned out to be an open competitor. I passed them and didn’t see anyone else. I came into T2 to a near empty transition area. I changed quick and was off onto the run. I passed another open person early in the run  and then at mile 1 I was passed. I tried to hold on but could only keep him in sight. It was then a lonely run until I spotted a person ahead just after mile 2. I kicked it up a bit passing him who I saw was another open person while I went by. I pulled away then shortly after was the finish line.

A good race but not much drama. Result was 1st Age Group and 11th Overall. Now it’s back to Ironman training.

A little bit of drama did happen after the race though. Putting in a few miles on the bike post race I got a little lost. Thinking I was almost back and having reached my goal distance, I spotted a sign ahead. When I got it within sight, it read City Limit of Kannapolis. Needless to say, I got in a few extra miles.

  
 

#precisionfitness #liveitxtreme

#brlsports #schwabletires

Leave a comment