On the road, to the mountains…

  •   
  • I headed up to Lake Logan this past weekend for an International distance road Triathlon. It was a new race for me that was suppose to be very scenic. I arrived a few days before with my family because it was not far from where we stay at my mother inlaws Mtn house. The day before the race I went to register and pickup my packet, the area was gorgeous. I did a short swim in the lake, with my wetsuit as the lake was 72 degrees making wetsuits legal to use. It was strange putting a wetsuit on in the middle of August but it would be a speed advantage. The next day I woke up super early due to the 7am start time, and headed to the race site with Alex and Kristen who were staying at the house for the race.
  • Halfway there I realized I had forgotten my torpedo(hydration unit) that was premixed with Trifuel and sitting in the fridge. I texted Leigh-Ann who was also staying at the house from her race that had been completed the previous day. I had hoped she could bring it seeing that she planned to come watch our race. Arriving onsite, I got my gear together and headed to transition. Then setup my area, went for a warmup run, put on my wetsuit and headed for the start. I didn’t see Leigh-Ann, so I put a regular bottle on my bike. 
  • I got in a quick warmup swim…then took my position. The gun went and were we’re off. 1500m swim was the first leg, I felt fairly strong through the swim and came out of the water 2nd in my group…then made the long run to transition, which went well. While I was running out with my bike I saw Leigh-Ann who had to my surprise, brought my torpedo. I quickly changed it out and was off on the bike. But due to the exchange a couple of riders had gotten ahead of me. I took a mile or two to settle in, then I went about trying to hunting them down. I steadily gained throughout the bike passing one at the halfway point, then catching the other a few miles from the end. In the process a few others were caught also during the 25 mile bike leg. Now, as some of you may know, I have been dealing with a knee injury…it didn’t seem to bother me too badly on the bike but I wondered how it would fair on the run, especially because I hadn’t been running much lately while trying to let it heal/rest. So into T2 I went, a quick transition and I was out on the run.
  •   
  • It was a 6.2 mile course, 3.1 up the hill, then 3.1 back down(actually turned out to be almost 6.4). I came out just behind a fellow competitor, who I stayed with for a mile or so, then he began to pull away. Nearing the turnaround I found myself looking at the leaders now going downhill as they passed me and counting the distance until I would turn and head downhill myself.
  • I made it to the turn and saw two people on my heels…pushing on the downhill now I held them off until about a mile to go. My knee had began to give me some signs it was at its limit as they passed me. I tried to hang in there but it wasn’t happening. With about a half mile to go I made a final push…and finished well. 
  •   
  • The final tally was an age group win and 12th Overall. I will take it!
  •   
  • Now the big question is…What’s next as my late season plans might be changing…

#precisionfitness #liveitxtreme

#brlsports #schwabletires

Leave a comment